Awards & Honors

Each year the College honors individuals who have contributed to the fields of justice and safety through their careers and contributions to society. The culmination of these award presentations is the College’s Night of Distinguished Professionals held each spring to honor these award recipients.

Distinguished Professional Award

This award recognizes individuals who have made significant contributions as practitioners in the areas of justice and safety at the regional, national or international level. Past recipient of this award are:

2016 - Dr. John Bizzack, Commissioner, Department of Criminal Justice Training
2015 – Dr. Janna Vice, Provost and Vice President of Academic Affairs, Eastern Kentucky University
2014 – Clark "Bud" Orr, Chairman, Orr Corporation
2013 – Ronnie Bastin, Chief, Lexington Division of Police
2009 – Dr. Lee Brown, “The Father of Community Policing”
2008 – Shay Bilchik, Director, Center for Juvenile Justice Reform
2007 – Anthany Beatty, Chief, Lexington Division of Police
2006 – Hal Rogers, U.S. Fifth District Congressman
2005 – Dr. David Boyd, Deputy Director of Systems Engineering and Development for the Department of Homeland Security
2004 – Sarah Hart, Director of the National Institute of Justice
2003 – Dr. Kathleen Hawk Sawyer, Director of the Federal Bureau of Prisons

Truett A. Ricks Award

Named after the second dean of the College, this award recognizes outstanding contributions to justice and safety in Kentucky over an extended period of time. Past recipients of this award are:

2009 – Cookie Crews, Warden, Kentucky Correctional Institute for Women
2007 – Alecia Webb-Edgington, Executive Director, KY Office of Homeland Security
2006 – Michael K. Nalley
2005 – Stephen T. Smith
2004 – Dr. John Bizzack
2002 – Cheryl Roberts
2001 – Sec. Robert Stephens
2001 – Lt. Col. Lewis Babb, Jr.

Distinguished Alumnus Award

The Alumni Society annually sponsors the EKU College of Justice & Safety Distinguished Alumni Award. This award is presented to a graduate of the College who has distinguished him or herself within the fields of justice and safety. Contributions and/or achievements in both professional and civic areas are reviewed. Past Recipients of this award are: 

2016 - Ken Armstrong, Director, Division of Code Enforcement, LFUCG
2015 – Tim Sendelbach, Editor & Chief, Firehouse
2014 – Mark Barnard, Assistant Chief, Lexington Division of Police
2013 – Randy Shaw
2011 – Mavis Williamson
2009 – Tim James
2008 – Kathy Black-Dennis
2007 – Maxine Grossinger
2006 – Chief Gary “Shane” Ray
2005 – Dr. Pam Collins
2004 – Bob Hendricks
2002 – Mitchell Smith
2001 – R. Paul McCauley
2000 – Rebecca Langston
1999 – Tommy Norris
1998 – R. Allen Smith
1997 – Fred Alley, Jr.
1996 – Kathy W. Frederich
1995 – Charles E. Johnson
1994 – Helen M. Eigenberg
1993 – Charles R. Lewis
1991 – Jerry W. Lovitt
1990 – Victor Kappeler
1989 – Fred H. Otto, III
1988 – Steven T. Adwell
1987 – Robert C. McKinney
1986 – Edwin E. Miller

Dean’s Award

This award is given at the discretion of the Dean of the College of Justice & Safety to an individual in recognition of their dedication to a particular area in the justice and safety fields. Past recipients of this award are:

2015 – Dr. Brenda Miller, Senior Safety Advisor, United States Army Combat Readiness Center, Fort Rucker
2014 – Teresa James, Commissioner, Department of Community Based Services
2013 – LaDonna Thompson, Commissioner, Department of Corrections
2009 – Chief Ron Coleman
2008 – Dr. Bruce Wolford
2007 – James E. “Ted” Bassett III
2006 – Dr. Emily Craig
2005 – Mrs. Pat Byron
2004 – Mr. Joseph Famularo (posthumously)